Down by Contact

A player who possesses the ball is ruled down by contact when he touches the ground with any part of his body — other than his feet, hands or arms — as a direct result of contact with a player of the opposing team. If a player touches the ground with any part of his body other than his feet, hands or arms, but was not contacted by a defender, he may get up and continue to advance the ball. The exception is when a ball carrier intentionally kneels down or gives himself up and stops advancing.