Eligible Receiver

Eligible receivers include:

  • All defensive players
  • Quarterbacks
  • Punters
  • Placekickers
  • Running backs
  • Tight ends
  • H-backs
  • Wide receivers

Offensive players who are eligible wear numbers from 1–49 or 80–89, though in certain situations, other players can report as eligible to the referee before a play. Anyone on the field becomes eligible once the ball has been touched by any defensive player or eligible offensive player.