The NFL and USAA, an Official NFL Salute to Service Partner, announced AMB Sports and Entertainment CEO Steve Cannon, New England Patriots Long Snapper Joe Cardona, and San Francisco 49ers General Manager and NFL Legend John Lynch as the finalists for the 10th annual Salute to Service Award presented by USAA.

Cannon, Cardona and Lynch were selected for their efforts to honor and support members of the military community. The Salute to Service Award recipient will be recognized at NFL Honors, a primetime awards special to air nationally the Saturday before Super Bowl LV.

USAA, a leading provider of insurance and other services to U.S. military members, veterans and their families, will contribute $25,000 in the award recipient's honor to the official aid societies representing all five military branches. The NFL will match USAA's donation of $25,000, which will be donated to the award recipient's military charity of choice. The recipient will receive a specially designed military challenge coin recognizing their commitment to the military. Challenge coins are presented to members of the military community to encourage excellence, boost morale or to recognize a fellow brother- or sister-in-arms.

"America's military community is stronger thanks to the service and support from all three worthy finalists for the 10th annual 'Salute to Service Award presented by USAA,'" said Vice Admiral (Ret.) John Bird, USAA Senior Vice President of Military Affairs. "While two of this year's finalists served our nation in uniform, this award is meant to highlight efforts we can all make to support America's military community. We thank and appreciate Steve, Joe, and John for joining USAA in always honoring and serving our military, veterans and their families."

The Salute to Service Award is part of the NFL and USAA's year-round commitment to recognize and honor the military community. This season, all 32 NFL clubs nominated coaches, active players and Legends, and team executives and personnel, who best demonstrated support for the military community.

The nominees were announced in November and the submissions were evaluated by a panel of judges, including last year's award recipient, Los Angeles Chargers and Kansas City Chiefs Legend Donnie Edwards. Nominees' credentials are evaluated based on the positive effect of the individual's efforts on the military community, the type of service conducted, the thoroughness of the program and level of commitment.

The panel of judges, consisting of representatives from the U.S. military, the NFL and USAA, includes:

  • Lenny Bandy,S. Marine Corps Veteran and NFL Vice President of Security
  • Vice Admiral John Bird (Ret.),S. Navy veteran, USAA Senior Vice President of Military Affairs
  • Donnie Edwards, 2019 Salute to Service Award recipient
  • Chad Hennings, Air Force Academy graduate, three-time Super Bowl champion
  • Vincent Jackson, NFL Legend & 2015 Salute to Service Award recipient
  • Jim Mora, Sr., Marine Corps veteran, former NFL head coach

Since 2011, USAA has used its sponsorship to honor and appreciate active-duty military, veterans and their families by creating unique opportunities that bring the military community and the NFL closer together.

Previous Salute to Service Award Recipients
2019 Donnie Edwards Los Angeles Chargers
2018 Ben Garland Atlanta Falcons
2017 Andre Roberts Atlanta Falcons
2016 Dan Quinn (Head Coach) Atlanta Falcons
2015 Vincent Jackson Tampa Bay Buccaneers
2014 Jared Allen Chicago Bears
2013 John Harbaugh (Head Coach) Baltimore Ravens
2012 Charles Tillman Chicago Bears
2011 K.S. "Bud" Adams Jr. (Late Owner) Tennessee Titans

Join the NFL and USAA in honoring the military community and learn more about all 32 team nominees.