Football Ops

Football Ops

Protecting the integrity of the greatest game.

NFL Ops: Honoring the Game

It's our responsibility to strengthen the sport.

League Governance

Ensuring a consistent and fair game that is decided on the field, by the players.

Social Justice

NFL COVID-19 Protocols

NFL Rules Enforcement

Ensuring that players conduct themselves in a way that honors the sport and respects the game.

NFL Way to Play

Knees Bent. Pads Down. Head Up and Out.

The NFL and HBCUs

The NFL is proud of the HBCU professional football legacy.

Economic & Social Impact

Honoring the league’s commitment to serve the communities where the game is played.

The NFL Ops Team

Meet the people behind NFL Operations.

The Game

The Game

Learn about the people, the jobs and the technology that deliver the best game possible to NFL fans across the U.S. and around the world. 

Game Day: Behind the Scenes

Countdown to kickoff: how NFL games happen.

Game Day Assistants

See the NFL personnel at every game, what they do and you can identify them. 


In the NFL, balancing technology with tradition.

Impact of Television

How television has changed the game.

History of Instant Replay

Upon further review…

Creating the NFL Schedule

It takes hundreds of computers and five NFL executives to create the NFL’s 256-game masterpiece.

Big Data Bowl

The annual analytics contest explores statistical innovations in football — how the game is played and coached.

Youth Football

Promoting the values of football.

The Players

The Players

Learn how NFL players have changed over time, how they’re developed and drafted and how the league works with them after their playing days are over.  

Evolution of the NFL Player

Creating an NFL player: from “everyman” to “superman.”

Development Pipeline

Supporting the next generation of players and fans.

Getting Into the Game

Preparing players of all ages for success at football’s highest level.

The NFL Draft

Introducing the next wave of NFL superstars. 

NFL Player Engagement

A look at the programs and services NFL Player Engagement provides to assist every player before, during and after his football career.

NFL Legends Community

Strengthening the NFL brotherhood.

NFL Total Wellness

NFL Total Wellness assists players, Legends and their families before, during and after their playing experiences.

The Officials

The Officials

Discover the evolution of professional officiating, the weekly evaluation process and how the NFL identifies and develops the next generation of officials.

In Focus: History of the Official

“One thing hasn’t changed: the pressure. It will always be there.”

Inside NFL GameDay Central

The latest information from the NFL's officiating center.

These Officials Are Really Good

Every week, officials take the field ready to put months of preparation, training and hard work on display, knowing that the whole world — and the Officiating Department — is watching.

Officiating Development

Officiating an NFL game takes years of training and experience. 

The Rules

The Rules

NFL Football Operations protects the integrity of the game by ensuring that the rules and the officiating are consistent and fair to all competitors.

In Focus: Evolution of the NFL Rules

The custodians of football not only have protected its integrity, but have also revised its playing rules to protect the players, and to make the games fairer and more entertaining.

NFL Video Rulebook

The NFL Video Rulebook explains NFL rules with video examples.

2020 NFL Rulebook

Explore the official rules of the game.

2020 Rules Changes and Points of Emphasis

NFL Overtime Rules

Signals Intelligence

The NFL's familiar hand signals help fans better understand the game.   

NFL Tiebreaking Procedures

The NFL's procedures for breaking ties for postseason playoffs.

NFL Rules Digest

A quick reference guide to the NFL rulebook.

Football 101

Football 101

Terms Glossary

Sharpen your NFL football knowledge with this glossary of the game's fundamental terms. 

Formations 101

See where the players line up in pro football's most common offensive and defensive formations.

Quick Guide to NFL TV Graphics

Understand what the graphics on NFL television broadcasts mean and how they can help you get the most out of watching NFL games.

NFL Instant Replay Process

The NFL’s instant replay review process focuses on expediting instant replay reviews and ensuring consistency. Learn how it works.

Stats Central

Stats Central

Go inside the game with the NFL's official game stats. Sort the stats by season or by week.

The Extra Point

Welcome to the Extra Point, where members of the NFL's football data and analytics team will share updates on league-wide trends in football data, interesting visualizations that showcase innovative ways to use the league's data, and provide an inside look at how the NFL uses data-driven insight to improve and monitor player and team performance.

Chart The Data

Chart and compare the NFL Football Operations stats you're looking for with the NFL's data tool. 

Weekly Dashboard

Get a snapshot of the current NFL game stats, updated weekly during the regular season.

Eight teams remain in the running for a spot in Super Bowl LIII. This weekend’s Divisional Playoffs will determine next week’s Conference Championship games.

Indianapolis Colts (11-6) at Kansas City Chiefs (12-4) (Saturday, NBC, 4:35 PM ET)

The No. 1 seed Kansas City Chiefs will host the Indianapolis Colts to kick off the Divisional Playoffs. The Chiefs won the AFC West division title for the third consecutive season in 2018 and quarterback Patrick Mahomes became the second player in NFL history with at least 5,000 passing yards and 50 touchdown passes in a single season. But the Colts lead the postseason series between the two teams (4-0) as they head into their fifth postseason meeting.

Dallas Cowboys (11-6) at Los Angeles Rams (13-3) (Saturday night, FOX, 8:15 PM ET)      

The Saturday primetime matchup pits the Los Angeles Rams against the Dallas Cowboys at the Los Angeles Memorial Coliseum. The Cowboys earned their first postseason win since the 2014 season by defeating Seattle 24-22 last week on Wild Card Weekend. They will have their hands full facing a Rams team that led the conference in total offense (421.1 yards per game) and scoring (32.9 points per game) this season.

Los Angeles Chargers (13-4) at New England Patriots (11-5) (Sunday, CBS, 1:05 PM ET)

The New England Patriots will welcome the Los Angeles Chargers on Sunday afternoon. The Chargers defeated Baltimore 23-17 last week to advance to the Divisional Playoffs. The Patriots won the AFC East division title for the 10th consecutive season, setting an NFL record for the most consecutive seasons with a playoff berth. Patriots quarterback Tom Brady — the NFL’s all-time postseason leader in games played (37), wins (27), completions (920), passing yards (10,226) and touchdown passes (71) — will face off against Chargers defensive end Melvin Ingram who had two sacks last week against the Ravens. 

Philadelphia Eagles (10-7) at New Orleans Saints (13-3) (Sunday, FOX, 4:40 PM ET)

The Divisional Round concludes with a battle between the No. 1 seed New Orleans Saints and the defending Super Bowl champions, the Philadelphia Eagles. The Eagles, who bested the Chicago Bears in last week’s Wild Card showdown, look to become the first back-to-back Super Bowl champions since the 2003-04 Patriots. Saints quarterback Drew Brees set an NFL single-season record for completion percentage (74.4) and led the league in passer rating (115.7) in 2018.

See the full Divisional Round preview.