Franchise and transition player designations were announced for the 2019 NFL free agency signing period, which begins at 4 p.m. ET on March 13. Teams may designate one “franchise” player or one “transition” player among its veteran free agents.

The salary offer by a player’s club determines whether the franchise player designation is exclusive or non-exclusive. 

  • Exclusive franchise players: Cannot sign with another club. They are offered the greater of (i) the average of the top five salaries at the player's position as of April 19; or (ii) the required amount for a “non-exclusive” franchise player (see chart below).
  • Non-exclusive franchise players: Can negotiate a contract with any club. The player’s current team will receive two first-round draft selections as compensation if he signs with a new club.

Six players were designated as non-exclusive franchise players for the 2019 season. The signing period for franchise players begins at 4 p.m. ET on March 13 and ends at 4 p.m. ET on Nov. 12.


Team Player Position
Atlanta Falcons Grady Jarrett DT
Dallas Cowboys Demarcus Lawrence DE
Houston Texans Jadeveon Clowney LB
Kansas City Chiefs Dee Ford LB
San Francisco 49ers Robbie Gould K
Seattle Seahawks Frank Clark DE

Below are the 2019 Cap Percentage Average (“CPA”) tenders for non-exclusive franchise players:

Position Tender Amount Position
Quarterback $24,865,000 DT
Running Back $11,214,000 DE
Wide Receiver $16,787,000 LB
Tight End $10,387,000 LB
Offensive Linemen $14,067,000 K
Defensive End $17,128,000 DE