The 2019 postseason features young quarterbacks on the rise and veteran passers at the top of their game.

  • Three quarterbacks — Buffalo’s Josh Allen, Philadelphia’s Carson Wentz and Tennessee’s Ryan Tannehill — will each make their first career postseason starts on Wild Card Weekend. San Francisco’s Jimmy Garoppolo, who has a career 21-5 record as a starting quarterback, will make his postseason debut in the NFC Divisional round.
  • New England’s Tom Brady has led the Patriots to 11 consecutive division titles and six Super Bowl championships and is the postseason’s all-time leader in games played (40), passing yards (11,179) and touchdown passes (73). Brady led New England to the Super Bowl LIII title last season.
  • Tennessee’s Ryan Tannehill will make his first start in the AFC Wild Card round. He led the NFL with a 117.5 passer rating this season, the fourth-highest single-season rating in NFL history.
  • New Orleans’ Drew Brees, a veteran of 19 NFL seasons, will make his 16th postseason start in the NFC Wild Card round after leading the league with a 74.3 completion percentage and ranking second with a career-high 116.3 passer rating in 2019. Brees led the Saints to the Super Bowl XLIV championship in 2009.
  • Minnesota’s Kirk Cousins will make his second postseason start, and first with the Vikings, in the Wild Card round. Cousins ranked fourth in the league with a 107.4 passer rating in 2019 and is the only quarterback with at least 25 touchdown passes in each of the past five seasons.
  • Baltimore’s Lamar Jackson has led the Ravens to consecutive AFC North division titles and will make his second postseason start in the AFC Divisional round. Jackson led the NFL with 36 touchdown passes, ranked third with a 113.3 passer rating and set the single-season record for rushing yards by a quarterback (1,206) in 2019.
  • Kansas City’s Patrick Mahomes will make his third postseason start in the AFC Divisional round. Since the beginning of the 2018 season, Mahomes leads the NFL with 76 touchdown passes and ranks third in both passing yards (9,128) and passer rating (110).
  • Green Bay’s Aaron Rodgers, in his 15th season, will make his 17th postseason start in the NFC Divisional round. He has 36 career postseason touchdown passes and can become the fifth quarterback in NFL history with at least 40 career postseason touchdown passes. Rodgers led the Packers to the Super Bowl XLV title in 2010.
  • Houston’s Deshaun Watson will make his second postseason start after leading the Texans to back-to-back AFC South titles. Watson is the first quarterback to have at least 25 touchdown passes and five rushing touchdowns in consecutive seasons in NFL history.
  • Buffalo’s Josh Allen will make his debut in the Wild Card round. He became the second-fastest quarterback to reach 15 career rushing touchdowns (22 games) in league annals.
  • Seattle’s Russell Wilson has led the Seahawks to the playoffs in seven of his eight seasons and will be making his 14th postseason start on Wild Card Weekend. Wilson led Seattle to a Super Bowl XLVIII win in 2013 and a Super Bowl XLIX appearance in 2014.
  • Philadelphia’s Carson Wentz will make his playoff debut during the Wild Card Round. Wentz broke the Eagles’ single-season franchise-record for passing yards (4,039) in 2019.