You Make The Call

See how you match up with NFL officials

  1. WatchWatch replays of three of this week's reviewed plays.
  2. Make The CallShould the ruling on the field stand or be reversed? You make the call.
  3. Get The RulingSee how you measure up against other fans and share your score and speed.
Start 2019 Week 8

All Weeks

  1. 2019 Week 17
  2. 2019 Week 16
  3. 2019 Week 15
  4. 2019 Week 14
  5. 2019 Week 13
  6. 2019 Week 12
  7. 2019 Week 11
  8. 2019 Week 10
  9. 2019 Week 9
  10. 2019 Week 8
  11. 2019 Week 7
  12. 2019 Week 6
  13. 2019 Week 5
  14. 2019 Week 4
  15. 2019 Week 3
  16. 2019 Week 2
  17. 2019 Week 1

2019 Week 8: Cincinnati @ Los Angeles Rams

Pass to Auden Tate: touchdown or incomplete?

Make The Call

Play 1 
Play 2 
Play 3 

The ruling on the field is a touchdown.

Show me the rule

After Further Review:

Rule hint

A player who makes a catch may advance the ball. A forward pass is complete (by the offense) or intercepted (by the defense) in the field of play, at the sideline, or in the end zone if a player, who is inbounds:

  1. secures control of the ball in his hands or arms prior to the ball touching the ground; and
  2. touches the ground inbounds with both feet or with any part of his body other than his hands; and
  3. after (a) and (b) have been fulfilled, performs any act common to the game (e.g., tuck the ball away, extend it forward, take an additional step, turn upfield, or avoid or ward off an opponent), or he maintains control of the ball long enough to do so.


  1. Movement of the ball does not automatically result in loss of control.
  2. If a player, who satisfied (a) and (b), but has not satisfied (c), contacts the ground and loses control of the ball, it is an incomplete pass if the ball hits the ground before he regains control, or if he regains control out of bounds.
  3. A receiver is considered a player in a defenseless posture (See Rule 12, Section 2, Article 9) throughout the entire process of the catch and until the player is capable of avoiding or warding off the impending contact of an opponent.
  4. If a pass is caught simultaneously by two eligible opponents, and both players retain it, the ball belongs to the passers. It is not a simultaneous catch if a player gains control first and an opponent subsequently gains joint control. If the ball is muffed after simultaneous touching by two such players, all the players of the passing team become eligible to catch the loose ball.
  5. If a player, who is in possession of the ball, is held up and carried out of bounds by an opponent before both feet or any part of his body other than his hands touches the ground inbounds, it is a completed or intercepted pass. It is not necessary for the player to maintain control of the ball when he lands out of bounds.

2019 Week 8: Cleveland @ New England

Pass to Jarvis Landry: complete or offensive pass interference?

Make The Call

Play 1 
Play 2 
Play 3 

The ruling on the field is offensive pass interference.

Show me the rule

After Further Review:

Rule hint

Blocking more than one yard beyond the line of scrimmage by an offensive player prior to a pass being thrown is offensive pass interference. See 8-3-1-Item 1 for exception for an ineligible offensive player.

Note: It is also pass interference by the offense to block a defender beyond the line while the pass is in the air, if the block occurs in the vicinity of the player to whom the pass is thrown. See 8-3-1-Note for exception for ineligible players.

2019 Week 8: Arizona @ New Orleans

Pass attempt by Drew Brees: incomplete or fumble?

Make The Call

Play 1 
Play 2 
Play 3 

The ruling on the field is a fumble.

Show me the rule

After Further Review:

Rule hint

It is a forward pass if:

  1. the ball initially moves forward (to a point nearer the opponent’s goal line) after leaving the passer’s hand(s); or
  2. the ball first touches the ground, a player, an official, or anything else at a point that is nearer the opponent’s goal line than the point at which the ball leaves the passer’s hand(s).
  3. When a Team A player is holding the ball to pass it forward, any intentional movement forward of his hand starts a forward pass.

Item 1. Contact by Team B Player. If a Team B player contacts the passer or the ball after forward movement begins, a forward pass is ruled, regardless of where the ball strikes the ground or a player. When this occurs, intentional grounding rules do not apply.

If a Team B player contacts the passer or the ball before forward movement begins, the direction of the pass is the responsibility of the passer, and grounding rules apply.

Item 2. Passer Tucks Ball. If the player loses possession of the ball during an attempt to bring it back toward his body, or if the player loses possession after he has tucked the ball into his body, it is a fumble.

Item 3. Passer re-cocks his arm. If the player loses possession of the ball while attempting to re-cock his arm, it is a fumble.

Item 4. Fumbled or Muffed Ball Goes Forward. The fact that a fumbled or muffed ball goes forward is disregarded, unless the act is ruled intentional. If it is intentional, a fumbled ball that goes forward is a forward pass (8-1-1), and a muff is a bat (12-5-1).

Your Stats

You are
You made the right call
Your average time per play was

How you measure up


You scored higher than of fans


Your average time per play was faster than of fans

Brag About It

Press play to start
Make the call
Know the play
Review different angles
Know the initial ruling