The NFL announced the high school football coaches nominated by each of the 32 NFL teams for the 2023 Don Shula High School Coach of the Year Award, representing the best in coaching at the high school level.

The coaches were recognized by their local NFL clubs for the award — named after Pro Football Hall of Famer Don Shula, the winningest coach in NFL history. The coaches were judged in areas in which Coach Shula excelled most during his career — character, integrity, leadership, dedication to the community, commitment to player health and safety and on-field success.

“It is exciting to celebrate the nominees from each NFL club; all 32 represent the integrity, commitment and character of Coach Don Shula,” said Roman Oben, NFL vice president of football development. “High school football coaches help mold the lives of young high school players both on and off the field. They serve as leaders and role models, and this group represents the very best every year.”

The NFL will recognize one winner from each conference. The winners will receive an invitation to the 2024 Pro Bowl Games in Orlando, on Feb. 4 and will be recognized during the week. Coaches will receive VIP access and accommodations to attend the practices for each conference, get on-field access on Sunday for the Pro Bowl Games, and have a chance to engage with members of the football community.

The NFL Foundation and Nike have teamed up to provide each winner a $15,000 award for their high school football programs and a $10,000 cash award. The other 30 nominees will each receive $1,000. The winners will also attend Super Bowl LVIII in Las Vegas.

The Don Shula Award winners will be announced in the week prior to the 2024 Pro Bowl Games, which will televised on Sunday, Feb. 4, from 3-6 p.m. ET on ESPN, ABC, Disney XD, ESPN+ and ESPN Deportes. The winners will also walk the red carpet at NFL Honors, which will air nationally on Thursday, Feb. 8, at 9 p.m. ET on CBS.

The Don Shula NFL High School Coach of the Year winners are selected by a panel of distinguished individuals:

  • 2022 Don Shula NFL Coach of the Year Award AFC Winner Clive Harding
  • 2022 Don Shula NFL Coach of the Year Award NFC Winner Matthew Gallagher
  • NFL analyst and former front office executive Scott Pioli
  • Pro Football Hall of Famer and current ESPN contributor Peyton Manning
  • Pro Football Hall of Fame coach and current NBC analyst Tony Dungy
  • Executive Director of USA Football Scott Hallenbeck
  • Former Pro Bowl cornerback and NFL consultant Bobby Taylor
  • Former Pro Bowl fullback and NFL Network analyst Michael Robinson
  • Aplington-Parkersburg High School Principal Aaron Thomas, son of the school's late football coach Ed Thomas
  • NFL Legend, former NFL head coach, and son of the late Coach Shula, Dave Shula
  • Nike Brand Director of Grass Roots and Team Scott Henson

Below is a full list of the 2023 Don Shula NFL High School Coach of the Year nominees.

2023 Don Shula NFL High School Coach of the Year nominees
Nominating NFL Team  Coach High School
Arizona Cardinals Colin Thomas Liberty 
Atlanta Falcons Keith Maloof Norcross 
Baltimore Ravens Kurt Stein Oakdale 
Buffalo Bills Terrell Cunningham James Monroe 
Carolina Panthers Aaron Brand Irmo 
Chicago Bears Derek Leonard Rochester 
Cincinnati Bengals Tom Grippa Milford 
Cleveland Browns Matt Dennison Canton South  
Dallas Cowboys Jason Witten Liberty Christian School
Denver Broncos Andy Lowry Columbine 
Detroit Lions Shane Fairfield Muskegon 
Green Bay Packers Matt Hensler Badger 
Houston Texans Cornelius Anthony Hightower 
Indianapolis Colts Larry "Bud" Wright Sheridan 
Jacksonville Jaguars Brian Braddock St. Augustine 
Kansas City Chiefs Jesse Owen Gardner Edgerton 
Las Vegas Raiders Chris Sawyers Sunrise Mountain 
Los Angeles Chargers Scott Altenberg Junipero Serra 
Los Angeles Rams Demel Franklin Cerritos  
Miami Dolphins Daryle Heidelburg Miami Norland Senior  
Minnesota Vikings Mike Diggins Centennial 
New England Patriots Allan Fornaro Xaverian Brothers 
New Orleans Saints Jim Hightower  St. Thomas More Catholic  
New York Giants Nick Aiello Tioga Central  
New York Jets Danny Landberg Erasmus Hall  
Philadelphia Eagles Tim Roken St. Joseph's Preparatory School
Pittsburgh Steelers Mike Warfield Aliquippa 
*San Francisco 49ers Nelson Tran Independence  
Seattle Seahawks Travis Anderson Anacortes 
Tampa Bay Buccaneers Clayton Varnum Durant 
Tennessee Titans Tony Brunetti Pearl Cohn 
Washington Commanders Bradley Lutz William Byrd