Kansas City Chiefs quarterback Patrick Mahomes and New York Giants running back Saquon Barkley were named the 2018 FedEx Air & Ground NFL Players of The Year. FedEx and the NFL announced before Super Bowl LIII.

The FedEx Air & Ground NFL Players of the Year awards are a culmination of weekly awards presented by FedEx throughout the NFL season that let fans honor stand-out quarterback and running back performances. Charitable donations are made to the USO in the name of the winning players. This is the 16th season FedEx has presented the awards.

Kansas City Chiefs QB Patrick Mahomes led the NFL with 50 touchdown passes and joined Peyton Manning (55 in 2013) and Tom Brady (50 in 2007) as the only quarterbacks with 50 touchdown passes in a season in NFL history. A 2019 Pro Bowl selection, Mahomes ranked second in the NFL with a franchise-record 5,097 passing yards and became the seventh different player in NFL history with 5,000+ pass yards in a single season. Mahomes had seven games with at least four touchdown passes in 2018, the second-most in a season.

New York Giants RB Saquon Barkley led the NFL with 2,028 scrimmage yards and joined Pro Football Hall of Famer Eric Dickerson (2,212 in 1983) and Edgerrin James (2,139 in 1999) as the only rookies with at least 2,000 scrimmage yards in NFL history. A 2019 Pro Bowl selection, Barkley ranked second in the league with 1,307 rushing yards and had 91 receptions in 2018, the most by a rookie running back in NFL history.

Mahomes was selected from a panel of three finalists FedEx Air NFL Players of the Year finalists, including Drew Brees of the New Orleans Saints and Philip Rivers of the Los Angeles Chargers. Barkley was selected from FedEx Ground NFL Players of the Year finalists, including Ezekiel Elliott of the Dallas Cowboys and Todd Gurley of the Los Angeles Rams.

As part of the FedEx Air & Ground NFL Players of the Year program, FedEx will donate $40,000 to the USO — $20,000 in each winning player's name — through FedEx Cares. The donation will support the USO, a military support organization dedicated to connecting service members and their families to family, home and country throughout their service to the nation.

Throughout the season, FedEx supported its commitment to serving the community by making $2,000 donations to the USO weekly in each of the winning players' names, totaling $108,000 this season.

Through FedEx Cares, FedEx is investing $200 million in more than 200 communities by 2020 to create opportunities and deliver solutions around the world.

Previous FedEx Air & Ground NFL Players of the Year Award Winners
2017 Carson Wentz, Philadelphia Todd Gurley, Los Angeles Rams
2016 Matt Ryan, Atlanta Ezekiel Elliott, Dallas
2015 Carson Palmer, Arizona Adrian Peterson, Minnesota
2014 Aaron Rodgers, Green Bay Le'Veon Bell, Pittsburgh
2013 Peyton Manning, Denver LeSean McCoy, Philadelphia
2012 Peyton Manning, Denver Adrian Peterson, Minnesota
2011 Drew Brees, New Orleans LeSean McCoy, Philadelphia
2010 Aaron Rodgers, Green Bay Jamaal Charles, Kansas City
2009 Drew Brees, New Orleans Chris Johnson, Tennessee
2008 Drew Brees, New Orleans Adrian Peterson, Minnesota
2007 Brett Favre, Green Bay Fred Taylor, Jacksonville
2006 Drew Brees, New Orleans LaDainian Tomlinson, San Diego
2005 Carson Palmer, Cincinnati Shaun Alexander, Seattle
2004 Peyton Manning, Indianapolis Curtis Martin, New York Jets
2003 Peyton Manning, Indianapolis Ahman Green, Green Bay