Team Menu
Back to Team Histories
Est. 1960


Former Denver Broncos quarterback John Elway passes the football.

John Elway - QB - 51,475 Passing Yards

AP via Ed Andrieski

Broncos  Logo

Did you know?

The thin air in the Mile High City has helped three of the five longest field goals in NFL history take place in Denver. 

Team History

  • The Denver Broncos began play in the American Football League in 1960 before it merged with the NFL. 
  • In 1968, the city of Denver purchased the Broncos’ stadium and renamed it Denver Mile High Stadium where the team currently plays.  
  • In 1973 under head coach John Ralston, the Broncos recorded their first winning season, finishing 7-5-2.  
  • Between 1977 and 1991, the Broncos won seven AFC Western Division titles and four AFC Championships.  
  • The Denver Broncos became one of five teams to win back-to-back Super Bowls after beating the Green Bay Packers in 1998 and the Atlanta Falcons in 1999.  
  • In 2015, the Denver Broncos became one of four teams to have made eight Super Bowl appearances when they advanced to Super Bowl 50. They defeated the Carolina Panthers, 24-10, winning their third Super Bowl.  

Team Facts

  • Seasons: 65 (1960-2024)
  • Winningest Coach: (W-L-T) Mike Shanahan (138-86-0)
  • Super Bowl Titles: 3 
  • Record going into 2024 season: (W-L-T) 508-465-10
  • Playoff Record: 23-19
  • Most Career Yards Rushing: Terrell Davis, 7,607 (1995-2001)
  • Most Career Yards Passing: John Elway, 51,475 (1983-98)
  • Most Career Receptions:  Rod Smith, 849 (1995-2006)
  • Most Career Sacks: Von Miller, 110.5 (2011-21)
  • Most Career Interceptions: Steve Foley, 44 (1976-86)
  • Most Career Points: Jason Elam, 1,786 (1993-2007)
  • Current Team Owner: Rob Walton

Select a Different Team

American Football Conference AFC
North Baltimore Ravens Logo Cincinnati Bengals Logo Cleveland Browns Logo Pittsburgh Steelers Logo
East Buffalo Bills Logo Miami Dolphins Logo New England Patriots Logo New York Jets Logo
South Houston Texans Logo Indianapolis Colts Logo Jacksonville Jaguars Logo Tennessee Titans Logo
West Denver Broncos Logo Kansas City Chiefs Logo Las Vegas Raiders Logo Los Angeles Chargers Logo
National Football Conference NFC
North Chicago Bears Logo Detroit Lions Logo Green Bay Packers Logo Minnesota Vikings Logo
East Dallas Cowboys Logo New York Giants Logo Philadelphia Eagles Logo Washington Commanders Logo
South Atlanta Falcons Logo Carolina Panthers Logo New Orleans Saints Logo Tampa Bay Buccaneers Logo
West Arizona Cardinals Logo Los Angeles Rams Logo San Francisco 49ers Logo Seattle Seahawks Logo