Team Menu
Back to Team Histories
Est. 1925

New York

Former New York Giants quarterback Eli Manning passes the football.

Eli Manning - QB - 57,023 Passing Yards

AP via Bill Kostroun

Giants Logo

Did you know?

The Giants’ legal name is “The New York Football Giants” to distinguish them from the New York Giants baseball team, which played in New York from 1885-1957 before moving to San Francisco.

Team History

  • The Giants were founded and played their first season in 1925. 
  • The Giants are still a family-owned organization. The original founder, Tim Mara, passed the team down to his sons, Jack and Wellington. Currently, John Mara (Wellington’s son) is the primary owner of the team, the third generation of his family to own the Giants. 
  • One of the most-storied franchises in NFL history, the Giants have won eight total NFL championships; four in the pre-Super Bowl era, and four Super Bowl titles. 
  • The Giants played in the 1958 NFL Championship game, losing in overtime to the Baltimore Colts, 23-17. The game was labeled “The Greatest Game Ever Played,” and is remembered for increasing the popularity of the NFL. 
  • The Giants spoiled the New England Patriots’ bid for a perfect season when they defeated them in Super Bowl XLII. They beat the Patriots again four seasons later to win Super Bowl XLVI.   

Team Facts

  • Seasons: 100 (1925-2024)
  • Winningest Coach: (W-L-T) Steve Owen (153-100-17) 
  • Super Bowl Titles: 4 
  • Record going into 2024 season: (W-L-T) 721-649-34  
  • Playoff Record: 25-26 
  • Most Career Yards Rushing: Tiki Barber, 10,449 (1997-2006) 
  • Most Career Yards Passing: Eli Manning, 57,023 (2004-19) 
  • Most Career Receptions: Amani Toomer, 668 (1996-2008) 
  • Most Career Sacks: Lawrence Taylor, 142 (1981-93)* 
  • Most Career Interceptions: Emlen Tunnell, 74 (1948-58)   
  • Most Career Points: Pete Gogolak, 646 (1966-74) 
  • Current Team Owner: John Mara   

 *Sacks prior to 1982 are not official

Select a Different Team

American Football Conference AFC
North Baltimore Ravens Logo Cincinnati Bengals Logo Cleveland Browns Logo Pittsburgh Steelers Logo
East Buffalo Bills Logo Miami Dolphins Logo New England Patriots Logo New York Jets Logo
South Houston Texans Logo Indianapolis Colts Logo Jacksonville Jaguars Logo Tennessee Titans Logo
West Denver Broncos Logo Kansas City Chiefs Logo Las Vegas Raiders Logo Los Angeles Chargers Logo
National Football Conference NFC
North Chicago Bears Logo Detroit Lions Logo Green Bay Packers Logo Minnesota Vikings Logo
East Dallas Cowboys Logo New York Giants Logo Philadelphia Eagles Logo Washington Commanders Logo
South Atlanta Falcons Logo Carolina Panthers Logo New Orleans Saints Logo Tampa Bay Buccaneers Logo
West Arizona Cardinals Logo Los Angeles Rams Logo San Francisco 49ers Logo Seattle Seahawks Logo