Team Menu
Back to Team Histories
Est. 1920


Former Chicago Bears running back Walter Payton runs with the football.

Walter Payton - RB - 16,726 Rushing Yards

AP via John Swart

Bears  Logo

Did you know?

The Bears are one of two charter members of the NFL that still exist (along with the Arizona Cardinals). The franchise started in 1920 in Decatur, Ill. as the Decatur Staleys of the American Professional Football Association, which would become the NFL in 1922.  

Team History

  • The Bears played in Wrigley Field, the famous home of the Chicago Cubs baseball team, from 1921 to 1970. 
  • The Bears’ oldest rivalry is with the Arizona Cardinals. The two teams played each other for the first time in 1920.  
  • The Bears were the first team to buy a player from another team, paying $100 for Ed Healey from Rock Island in 1922.
  • The Bears won four NFL championships in the 1940s, including a 73-0 victory over Washington in 1940.  
  • The Bears broke a 17-year championship drought with a 14-10 win over the New York Giants in 1963. 
  • The Bears won their first and only Super Bowl in 1986 when they defeated the New England Patriots, 46-10. 

Team Facts 

  • Seasons: 105 (1920-2024)
  • Winningest Coach: George Halas (W-L-T): 318-148-31
  • Super Bowl Titles: 1 
  • Record going into 2024 season: (W-L-T) 793-634-42
  • Playoff Record:17-20
  • Most Career Yards Rushing: Walter Payton, 16,726 (1975-87) 
  • Most Career Yards Passing: Jay Cutler, 23,443 (2009-16)
  • Most Career Receptions: Walter Payton, 492 (1975-87)
  • Most Career Sacks: Richard Dent, 124.5 (1983-93, 1995)
  • Most Career Interceptions: Gary Fencik, 38 (1976-87)
  • Most Career Points: Robbie Gould 1,207 (2005-15)
  • Current Team Owner: Virginia Halas McCaskey


Select a Different Team

American Football Conference AFC
North Baltimore Ravens Logo Cincinnati Bengals Logo Cleveland Browns Logo Pittsburgh Steelers Logo
East Buffalo Bills Logo Miami Dolphins Logo New England Patriots Logo New York Jets Logo
South Houston Texans Logo Indianapolis Colts Logo Jacksonville Jaguars Logo Tennessee Titans Logo
West Denver Broncos Logo Kansas City Chiefs Logo Las Vegas Raiders Logo Los Angeles Chargers Logo
National Football Conference NFC
North Chicago Bears Logo Detroit Lions Logo Green Bay Packers Logo Minnesota Vikings Logo
East Dallas Cowboys Logo New York Giants Logo Philadelphia Eagles Logo Washington Commanders Logo
South Atlanta Falcons Logo Carolina Panthers Logo New Orleans Saints Logo Tampa Bay Buccaneers Logo
West Arizona Cardinals Logo Los Angeles Rams Logo San Francisco 49ers Logo Seattle Seahawks Logo