Team Menu
Back to Team Histories
Est. 1966


Deion Sanders - CB - 24 Interceptions

AP via Spencer Weiner

Falcons Logo

Did you know?

The Atlanta Falcons’ mascot was a live falcon for their first 15 seasons. During a practice in 1966, the falcon escaped only to be found later at a nearby Kraft food plant before being returned.

Team History

  • In 1965, the NFL awarded Rankin Smith the Atlanta franchise, marking the end of the city’s quest to obtain a professional football team.  
  • Owner Rankin Smith held a contest to decide the name of the franchise – won by a schoolteacher in Griffin, Georgia who suggested the “Falcons” name.
  • In 1971, the Falcons recorded their first winning season under head coach Norm Van Brocklin, going 7-6-1.  
  • In 1998, the Falcons achieved their greatest season to date, winning the NFC West with a 14-2 record. They earned a trip to the 1999 Super Bowl, but lost to the Denver Broncos, 34-19. 
  • In 2016, the Falcons went 11-5 and defeated the Green Bay Packers in the NFC Championship game to advance to the Super Bowl, losing to the New England Patriots, 34-28.   

Team Facts

  • Seasons: 56 (1966-2021) 
  • Winningest Coach: (W-L-T) Mike Smith (66-46-0) 
  • Super Bowl Titles: 0  
  • Record going into 2021 season: (W-L-T) 369-473-6 
  • Playoff Record:10-14 
  • Most Career Yards Rushing: Gerald Riggs, 6,631 (1982-88) 
  • Most Career Yards Passing: Matt Ryan, 55,767 (2008-20) 
  • Most Career Receptions: Julio Jones, 848 (2011-20) 
  • Most Career Sacks: John Abraham, 68.5 (2006-12) 
  • Most Career Interceptions: Rolland Lawrence, 39 (1973-80) 
  • Most Career Points: Matt Bryant, 1,163 (2009-19) 
  • Current Team Owner: Arthur Blank  


Select a Different Team

American Football Conference AFC
North Baltimore Ravens Logo Cincinnati Bengals Logo Cleveland Browns Logo Pittsburgh Steelers Logo
East Buffalo Bills Logo Miami Dolphins Logo New England Patriots Logo New York Jets Logo
South Houston Texans Logo Indianapolis Colts Logo Jacksonville Jaguars Logo Tennessee Titans Logo
West Denver Broncos Logo Kansas City Chiefs Logo Las Vegas Raiders Logo Los Angeles Chargers Logo
NFL Logo
National Football Conference NFC
North Chicago Bears Logo Detroit Lions Logo Green Bay Packers Logo Minnesota Vikings Logo North
East Dallas Cowboys Logo New York Giants Logo Philadelphia Eagles Logo Washington Football Team Logo East
South Atlanta Falcons Logo Carolina Panthers Logo New Orleans Saints Logo Tampa Bay Buccaneers Logo South
West Arizona Cardinals Logo Los Angeles Rams Logo San Francisco 49ers Logo Seattle Seahawks Logo West