Team Menu
Back to Team Histories
Est. 1960

New York

Former New York Jets quarterback Joe Namath runs from an opponent.

Joe Namath - QB - 27,057 Passing Yards


Jets Logo

Did you know?

The New York Jets are one of two teams — the New Orleans Saints are the other — to win their first and only Super Bowl appearance.

Team History

  • The Jets were founded in 1959 as the Titans of New York and joined the AFL. In 1963, the franchise was sold and renamed the Jets.  
  • In 1968, the Jets advanced to the playoffs for the first time and played in the first AFL-NFL championship game officially called the Super Bowl. Under quarterback Joe Namath, the Jets defeated the Baltimore Colts, 16-7. 
  • In the 1980s, the Jets found success by making their return to the playoffs. In 1982, they made it to the AFC Championship game, but lost to the Miami Dolphins, 14-0.  
  • The Jets enjoyed success from 2001 to 2010, making the playoffs six times. Their last playoff appearance was in 2010 when they lost to the Pittsburgh Steelers in the AFC Championship game, 24-19. 

Team Facts

  • Seasons: 64 (1960-2023) 
  • Winningest Coach: (W-L-T) Weeb Ewbank (71-77-6) 
  • Super Bowl Titles: 1 
  • Record going into 2023 season: (W-L-T) 421-537-8  
  • Playoff Record: 12-13 
  • Most Career Yards Rushing: Curtis Martin, 10,302 (1998-2005) 
  • Most Career Yards Passing: Joe Namath, 27,057 (1965-76) 
  • Most Career Receptions: Don Maynard, 627 (1960-72) 
  • Most Career Sacks: Mark Gastineau, 107.5 (1979-88)*   
  • Most Career Interceptions: Bill Baird, 34 (1963-69) 
  • Most Career Points: Pat Leahy, 1,470 (1974-91)  
  • Current Team Owners: Woody Johnson and Christopher Johnson

*Sacks prior to 1982 are not official

Select a Different Team

American Football Conference AFC
North Baltimore Ravens Logo Cincinnati Bengals Logo Cleveland Browns Logo Pittsburgh Steelers Logo
East Buffalo Bills Logo Miami Dolphins Logo New England Patriots Logo New York Jets Logo
South Houston Texans Logo Indianapolis Colts Logo Jacksonville Jaguars Logo Tennessee Titans Logo
West Denver Broncos Logo Kansas City Chiefs Logo Las Vegas Raiders Logo Los Angeles Chargers Logo
National Football Conference NFC
North Chicago Bears Logo Detroit Lions Logo Green Bay Packers Logo Minnesota Vikings Logo
East Dallas Cowboys Logo New York Giants Logo Philadelphia Eagles Logo Washington Commanders Logo
South Atlanta Falcons Logo Carolina Panthers Logo New Orleans Saints Logo Tampa Bay Buccaneers Logo
West Arizona Cardinals Logo Los Angeles Rams Logo San Francisco 49ers Logo Seattle Seahawks Logo