Team Menu
Back to Team Histories
Est. 1967

New Orleans

Former New Orleans Saints quarterback Drew Brees passes the football.

Drew Brees - QB - 68,010 Passing Yards

AP via D. Ross Cameron

Saints Logo

Did you know?

New Orleans was awarded the NFL's 16th franchise on November 1, 1966, on All Saints Day. Over a month later, the team was named the "Saints."

Team History

  • The Saints began play in the 1967 season. 
  • New Orleans businessman Tom Benson acquired the franchise in 1985. The Saints reached the playoffs four times in six seasons from 1987 to 1992. 
  • Following the 2000 season, the Saints beat the St. Louis Rams, 31-28, which was their first playoff win in franchise history. 
  • In 2009, the Saints defeated the Indianapolis Colts, 31-17, in Super Bowl XLIV, with quarterback Drew Brees and head coach Sean Payton.  

Team Facts

  • Seasons: 58 (1967-2024)
  • Winningest Coach: (W-L-T) Sean Payton (152-89-0)
  • Super Bowl Titles: 1  
  • Record going into 2024 season: (W-L-T) 412-468-5
  • Playoff Record:  10-13
  • Most Career Yards Rushing: Mark Ingram, 6,500 (2011-18, 2021-22)
  • Most Career Yards Passing: Drew Brees, 68,010 (2006-20)
  • Most Career Receptions: Marques Colston, 711 (2006-15)
  • Most Career Sacks: Rickey Jackson, 123 (1981-93)
  • Most Career Interceptions: Dave Waymer, 37 (1980-89)
  • Most Career Points: Morten Andersen, 1,318 (1982-94)
  • Current Team Owner: Gayle Benson 


Select a Different Team

American Football Conference AFC
North Baltimore Ravens Logo Cincinnati Bengals Logo Cleveland Browns Logo Pittsburgh Steelers Logo
East Buffalo Bills Logo Miami Dolphins Logo New England Patriots Logo New York Jets Logo
South Houston Texans Logo Indianapolis Colts Logo Jacksonville Jaguars Logo Tennessee Titans Logo
West Denver Broncos Logo Kansas City Chiefs Logo Las Vegas Raiders Logo Los Angeles Chargers Logo
National Football Conference NFC
North Chicago Bears Logo Detroit Lions Logo Green Bay Packers Logo Minnesota Vikings Logo
East Dallas Cowboys Logo New York Giants Logo Philadelphia Eagles Logo Washington Commanders Logo
South Atlanta Falcons Logo Carolina Panthers Logo New Orleans Saints Logo Tampa Bay Buccaneers Logo
West Arizona Cardinals Logo Los Angeles Rams Logo San Francisco 49ers Logo Seattle Seahawks Logo