Team Menu
Back to Team Histories
Est. 1960

Kansas City

Former Kansas City Chiefs tight end Tony Gonzalez runs with the football.

Tony Gonzalez - TE - 10,940 Receiving Yards

AP via Joe Robbins

Chiefs Logo

Did you know?

In 2014, Kansas City Chiefs fans set the world record for loudest crowd noise at a sports stadium at 142.2 decibels. 

Team History

  • The team originally played as the Dallas Texans as part of the American Football League from 1960 to 1962. In 1963, owner Lamar Hunt moved the team to Kansas City and the team was renamed the Chiefs.   
  • The Chiefs won three AFL championships in the 1960s, becoming the team with the most championships in the short-lived AFL. They also won their first Super Bowl when they defeated the Minnesota Vikings, 23-7, in 1970. 
  • In 1972, the Kansas City Chiefs moved into their current home, Arrowhead Stadium, which is considered one of the best stadiums in the world because of its acoustics and sleek seating design.  
  • In the 2017 NFL Draft, the Chiefs drafted quarterback Patrick Mahomes with the 10th pick. They clinched their second Super Bowl title in 2020 after defeating the San Francisco 49ers, 31-20, third in 2023 after defeating the Philadelphia Eagles, 38-35, and fourth in 2024 after defeating the San Francisco 49ers, 25-22.

Team Facts

  • Seasons: 65 (1960-2024)
  • Winningest Coach: (W-L-T) Andy Reid (128-51-0)
  • Super Bowl Titles: 4 
  • Record going into 2024 season: (W-L-T) 532-439-12
  • Playoff Record: 24-21
  • Most Career Yards Rushing: Jamaal Charles, 7,260 (2008-16)
  • Most Career Yards Passing: Len Dawson, 28,507 (1962-75)
  • Most Career Receptions: Tony Gonzalez, 916 (1997-2008)
  • Most Career Sacks: Derrick Thomas, 126.5 (1989-99)
  • Most Career Interceptions: Emmitt Thomas, 58 (1966-78)
  • Most Career Points: Nick Lowery, 1,466 (1980-93)
  • Current Team Owner: Hunt Family

Select a Different Team

American Football Conference AFC
North Baltimore Ravens Logo Cincinnati Bengals Logo Cleveland Browns Logo Pittsburgh Steelers Logo
East Buffalo Bills Logo Miami Dolphins Logo New England Patriots Logo New York Jets Logo
South Houston Texans Logo Indianapolis Colts Logo Jacksonville Jaguars Logo Tennessee Titans Logo
West Denver Broncos Logo Kansas City Chiefs Logo Las Vegas Raiders Logo Los Angeles Chargers Logo
National Football Conference NFC
North Chicago Bears Logo Detroit Lions Logo Green Bay Packers Logo Minnesota Vikings Logo
East Dallas Cowboys Logo New York Giants Logo Philadelphia Eagles Logo Washington Commanders Logo
South Atlanta Falcons Logo Carolina Panthers Logo New Orleans Saints Logo Tampa Bay Buccaneers Logo
West Arizona Cardinals Logo Los Angeles Rams Logo San Francisco 49ers Logo Seattle Seahawks Logo