Team Menu
Back to Team Histories
Est. 1921

Green Bay

Former Green Bay Packers wide receiver Donald Driver runs with the football.

Donald Driver - WR - 743 Receptions

AP via G. Newman Lowrance

Packers  Logo

Did you know?

The Green Bay Packers are the only community-owned non-profit professional sports team in the United States and the last of the “small-town teams” that dominated the NFL’s early days.  

Team History

  • The Green Bay Packers were founded in 1919 when the Indian Packing Company agreed to sponsor a pro football team under the direction of Earl "Curly" Lambeau. The team joined the NFL in 1921 and is the third-oldest franchise in the league.  
  • Lambeau and head coach Vince Lombardi became the dominant figures of the early Packers, leading the team to five World Championships in the 1960s.   
  • The Packers won the first two Super Bowls played in 1967 and 1968.  
  • The Vince Lombardi Trophy, awarded to the winner of the Super Bowl each year, is named after Hall of Fame coach Vince Lombardi, who guided the Packers to their first two Super Bowl wins. 
  • The Packers returned to success when they won Super Bowl XXXI (1997) against the New England Patriots with quarterback Brett Favre and head coach Mike Holmgren.
  • The Packers have a winning record against all their NFC North division rivals: the Chicago Bears, Detroit Lions, and Minnesota Vikings.

Team Facts

  • Seasons: 104 (1921-2024)
  • Winningest Coach: (W-L-T) Curly Lambeau (209-104-21)
  • Super Bowl Titles: 4 
  • Record going into 2024 season: (W-L-T) 799-598-38
  • Playoff Record: 37-26
  • Most Career Yards Rushing: Ahman Green, 8,322 (2000-06, 2009)
  • Most Career Yards Passing: Brett Favre, 61,655 (1992-2007)
  • Most Career Receptions: Donald Driver, 743 (1999-2012)
  • Most Career Sacks: Willie Davis, 99.5 (1960-69)* 
  • Most Career Interceptions: Bobby Dillon, 52 (1952-59)
  • Most Career Points: Mason Crosby, 1,918 (2007-22)
  • Current Team Owner: Green Bay Packers, Inc.

*Sacks prior to 1982 are not official


Select a Different Team

American Football Conference AFC
North Baltimore Ravens Logo Cincinnati Bengals Logo Cleveland Browns Logo Pittsburgh Steelers Logo
East Buffalo Bills Logo Miami Dolphins Logo New England Patriots Logo New York Jets Logo
South Houston Texans Logo Indianapolis Colts Logo Jacksonville Jaguars Logo Tennessee Titans Logo
West Denver Broncos Logo Kansas City Chiefs Logo Las Vegas Raiders Logo Los Angeles Chargers Logo
National Football Conference NFC
North Chicago Bears Logo Detroit Lions Logo Green Bay Packers Logo Minnesota Vikings Logo
East Dallas Cowboys Logo New York Giants Logo Philadelphia Eagles Logo Washington Commanders Logo
South Atlanta Falcons Logo Carolina Panthers Logo New Orleans Saints Logo Tampa Bay Buccaneers Logo
West Arizona Cardinals Logo Los Angeles Rams Logo San Francisco 49ers Logo Seattle Seahawks Logo