Team Menu
Back to Team Histories
Est. 1968


Former Cincinnati Bengals quarterback Ken Anderson passes the football.

Ken Anderson - QB - 32,838 Passing Yards

AP via Uncredited

Bengals Logo

Did you know?

The Cincinnati Bengals defeated the San Diego Chargers, 27-7, in the 1981 AFC Championship, which was the coldest game in NFL history in terms of wind chill at -37 degrees. 

Team History

  • The Bengals franchise began in 1968 after three years’ worth of campaigning from Paul Brown, former coach for the Cleveland Browns. 
  • Brown named the team after Cincinnati’s former pro football team called the Bengals that played in the 1930s and 1940s. 
  • In 1970, the Bengals secured the AFC Central Division title and became the first expansion team to win its division in its first three years.
  • The Bengals have made it to the Super Bowl thrice in their history (XVI, XXIII, and LVI).
  • Anthony Muñoz, who spent his entire career with the Bengals, is one of the best offensive tackles in NFL history.

Team Facts

  • Seasons: 57 (1968-2024) 
  • Winningest Coach: (W-L-T) Marvin Lewis (131-122-3) 
  • Super Bowl Titles: 0 
  • Record going into 2024 season: (W-L-T) 394-471-5 
  • Playoff Record: 10-16 
  • Most Career Yards Rushing: Corey Dillon, 8,061 (1997-2003) 
  • Most Career Yards Passing: Ken Anderson, 32,838 (1971-86) 
  • Most Career Receptions: Chad Johnson, 751 (2001-10) 
  • Most Career Sacks: Eddie Edwards, 84.5 (1977-88)*
  • Most Career Interceptions: Ken Riley, 65 (1969-83) 
  • Most Career Points: Jim Breech, 1,151 (1980-92) 
  • Current Team Owner: Mike Brown  

*Sacks prior to 1982 are not official


Select a Different Team

American Football Conference AFC
North Baltimore Ravens Logo Cincinnati Bengals Logo Cleveland Browns Logo Pittsburgh Steelers Logo
East Buffalo Bills Logo Miami Dolphins Logo New England Patriots Logo New York Jets Logo
South Houston Texans Logo Indianapolis Colts Logo Jacksonville Jaguars Logo Tennessee Titans Logo
West Denver Broncos Logo Kansas City Chiefs Logo Las Vegas Raiders Logo Los Angeles Chargers Logo
National Football Conference NFC
North Chicago Bears Logo Detroit Lions Logo Green Bay Packers Logo Minnesota Vikings Logo
East Dallas Cowboys Logo New York Giants Logo Philadelphia Eagles Logo Washington Commanders Logo
South Atlanta Falcons Logo Carolina Panthers Logo New Orleans Saints Logo Tampa Bay Buccaneers Logo
West Arizona Cardinals Logo Los Angeles Rams Logo San Francisco 49ers Logo Seattle Seahawks Logo