Team Menu
Back to Team Histories
Est. 1960

Los Angeles

LaDainian Tomlinson - RB - 12,490 Rushing Yards

AP via John Russell

Chargers  Logo

Did you know?

In 1992, the Chargers became the first NFL team to lose the first four games of their season and then clinch a playoff berth.  

Team History

  • The Chargers were founded by Barron Hilton in Los Angeles in 1959. Due to competition from the Los Angeles Rams, the team moved 120 miles south to San Diego in 1961.    
  • As part of the AFL, the Chargers enjoyed high-scoring years from 1961 to 1965, winning four AFL West titles and one AFL championship along the way. 
  • After 1965, the Chargers did not win another championship until 1979. When coach Don Coryell took over in 1978, the Chargers went on to win the AFC West division in 1979, 1980, and 1981 and made two AFC Championships.  
  • In 2016, the Chargers announced that they were moving back to Los Angeles for the 2017 season after 56 years in San Diego.  

Team Facts

  • Seasons: 62 (1960-2021)
  • Winningest Coach: (W-L-T) Sid Gillman (86-53-6)
  • Super Bowl Titles: 0 
  • Record going into 2021 season: (W-L-T) 459-462-11
  • Playoff Record: 12-18
  • Most Career Yards Rushing:  LaDainian Tomlinson, 12,490 (2001-09)
  • Most Career Yards Passing: Philip Rivers, 59,271 (2004-19)
  • Most Career Receptions: Antonio Gates, 955 (2003-18) 
  • Most Career Sacks: Leslie O’Neal, 105.5 (1986, 1988-95) 
  • Most Career Interceptions: Gill Byrd, 42 (1983-92) 
  • Most Career Points: John Carney, 1,076 (1991-2000) 
  • Current Team Owner: Dean Spanos  

Select a Different Team

American Football Conference AFC
North Baltimore Ravens Logo Cincinnati Bengals Logo Cleveland Browns Logo Pittsburgh Steelers Logo
East Buffalo Bills Logo Miami Dolphins Logo New England Patriots Logo New York Jets Logo
South Houston Texans Logo Indianapolis Colts Logo Jacksonville Jaguars Logo Tennessee Titans Logo
West Denver Broncos Logo Kansas City Chiefs Logo Las Vegas Raiders Logo Los Angeles Chargers Logo
NFL Logo
National Football Conference NFC
North Chicago Bears Logo Detroit Lions Logo Green Bay Packers Logo Minnesota Vikings Logo North
East Dallas Cowboys Logo New York Giants Logo Philadelphia Eagles Logo Washington Football Team Logo East
South Atlanta Falcons Logo Carolina Panthers Logo New Orleans Saints Logo Tampa Bay Buccaneers Logo South
West Arizona Cardinals Logo Los Angeles Rams Logo San Francisco 49ers Logo Seattle Seahawks Logo West