Team Menu
Back to Team Histories
Est. 1996


Former Baltimore Ravens safety Ed Reed runs with the football.

Ed Reed - S - 61 Interceptions

AP via Gene J. Puskar

Ravens Logo

Did you know?

The current team name was inspired by Edgar Allan Poe’s famous poem “The Raven” which was authored in Baltimore, Maryland.

Team History

  • After 12 seasons without a professional football team, Baltimore received its newest NFL franchise when the Ravens moved to the city in 1996.
  • Four years after the team’s inception, head coach Brian Billick led the Ravens to a Super Bowl victory in 2000 defeating the New York Giants, 34-7.
  • Head coach John Harbaugh and former quarterback Joe Flacco are the first coach and quarterback duo to win a playoff game in each of their first five seasons in the NFL.
  • The Baltimore Ravens won their second Super Bowl in 2013 in what has been dubbed “The Blackout Bowl” when a partial power outage suspended play for 34 minutes.
  • The Baltimore Ravens have established a reputation for strong defensive play with Hall of Fame players such as middle linebacker Ray Lewis and free safety Ed Reed making a big impact on the franchise’s Super Bowl wins.

Team Facts

  • Seasons: 29 (1996-2024)
  • Winningest Coach: (W-L-T): John Harbaugh (160-99-0)
  • Super Bowl Titles: 2
  • Record going into 2024 season: (W-L-T): 256-194-1
  • Playoff Record: 17-13
  • Most Career Yards Rushing: Jamal Lewis, 7,801 (2000-06)
  • Most Career Yards Passing: Joe Flacco, 38,245 (2008-18)
  • Most Career Receptions: Derrick Mason, 471 (2005-10)
  • Most Career Sacks: Terrell Suggs, 132.5 (2003-18)
  • Most Career Interceptions: Ed Reed, 61 (2002-12)
  • Most Career Points: Justin Tucker, 1,649 points (2012–24)
  • Current Team Owner: Steve Bisciotti


Select a Different Team

American Football Conference AFC
North Baltimore Ravens Logo Cincinnati Bengals Logo Cleveland Browns Logo Pittsburgh Steelers Logo
East Buffalo Bills Logo Miami Dolphins Logo New England Patriots Logo New York Jets Logo
South Houston Texans Logo Indianapolis Colts Logo Jacksonville Jaguars Logo Tennessee Titans Logo
West Denver Broncos Logo Kansas City Chiefs Logo Las Vegas Raiders Logo Los Angeles Chargers Logo
National Football Conference NFC
North Chicago Bears Logo Detroit Lions Logo Green Bay Packers Logo Minnesota Vikings Logo
East Dallas Cowboys Logo New York Giants Logo Philadelphia Eagles Logo Washington Commanders Logo
South Atlanta Falcons Logo Carolina Panthers Logo New Orleans Saints Logo Tampa Bay Buccaneers Logo
West Arizona Cardinals Logo Los Angeles Rams Logo San Francisco 49ers Logo Seattle Seahawks Logo