Team Menu
Back to Team Histories
Est. 1976

Tampa Bay

Former Tampa Bay Buccaneers cornerback Ronde Barber catches the football.

Ronde Barber – CB – 47 Interceptions

AP via John Raoux

Buccaneers Logo

Did you know?

The Buccaneers became the first post-merger expansion team to win a division championship, a playoff game, and host and play in a conference championship game — accomplishing all three feats during the 1979 season.

Team History

  • In 1977, the Buccaneers switched from the AFC to the NFC conference, where they have remained.
  • In 1979, the Buccaneers reached the NFC Championship game in only their fourth season. However, they were defeated by the Los Angeles Rams, 9-0.  
  • After the 2001 season, the Buccaneers left the NFC Central division and joined the NFC South.
  • The 2002 Buccaneers won their first Super Bowl (XXXVII) when they defeated the Oakland Raiders, 48-21.  

Team Facts

  • Seasons: 49 (1976–2024)
  • Winningest Coach: (W-L-T) Jon Gruden (57-55-0)
  • Super Bowl Titles: 2 
  • Record going into 2024 season: (W-L-T) 308-450-1
  • Playoff Record: 12-12
  • Most Career Yards Rushing: James Wilder, 5,957 (1981-89)
  • Most Career Yards Passing: Jameis Winston, 19,737 (2015-19)
  • Most Career Receptions: Mike Evans, 762 (2014-23)
  • Most Career Sacks: Lee Roy Selmon, 78.5 (1976-84)*
  • Most Career Interceptions: Ronde Barber, 47 (1997-2012)
  • Most Career Points: Martin Gramatica, 592 (1999-2004)
  • Current Team Owner: Glazer Family 

*Sacks prior to 1982 are not official


Select a Different Team

American Football Conference AFC
North Baltimore Ravens Logo Cincinnati Bengals Logo Cleveland Browns Logo Pittsburgh Steelers Logo
East Buffalo Bills Logo Miami Dolphins Logo New England Patriots Logo New York Jets Logo
South Houston Texans Logo Indianapolis Colts Logo Jacksonville Jaguars Logo Tennessee Titans Logo
West Denver Broncos Logo Kansas City Chiefs Logo Las Vegas Raiders Logo Los Angeles Chargers Logo
National Football Conference NFC
North Chicago Bears Logo Detroit Lions Logo Green Bay Packers Logo Minnesota Vikings Logo
East Dallas Cowboys Logo New York Giants Logo Philadelphia Eagles Logo Washington Commanders Logo
South Atlanta Falcons Logo Carolina Panthers Logo New Orleans Saints Logo Tampa Bay Buccaneers Logo
West Arizona Cardinals Logo Los Angeles Rams Logo San Francisco 49ers Logo Seattle Seahawks Logo