Team Menu
Back to Team Histories
Est. 1920


Kurt Warner - QB - 30,290 Passing Yards

AP via Jeff Roberson

Cardinals Logo

Did you know?

The Cardinals franchise dates to 1898, making it the oldest professional American football club in the NFL.

Team History

  • The Cardinals franchise was established in Chicago as the Morgan Athletic Club in 1898 and joined the NFL as a charter team in 1920. 
  • While based in Chicago, the Cardinals won their only two NFL Championships in 1925 and 1947.  
  • After 40 seasons in Chicago, the club moved to St. Louis in 1960. 
  • The St. Louis Cardinals were serious championship contenders in the 1970s, winning the NFC Eastern Division Championship in 1974 and 1975. 
  • In 1988, the Cardinals moved once again — this time to Phoenix. The club was known as the “Phoenix Cardinals” from 1988-93, when they became the Arizona Cardinals. 
  • In 2009, the Cardinals reached Super Bowl XLIII, but lost to the Pittsburgh Steelers on a touchdown pass from Ben Roethlisberger to Santonio Holmes with :35 remaining.    

Team Facts

  • Seasons: 102 (1920-2021) 
  • Winningest Coach: (W-L-T) Bruce Arians (49-30-1) 
  • Super Bowl Titles: 0  
  • Record going into 2021 season: (W-L-T) 566-771-41
  • Playoff Record: 7-9 
  • Most Career Yards Rushing: Ottis Anderson, 7,999 (1979-86) 
  • Most Career Yards Passing: Jim Hart, 34,639 (1966-83) 
  • Most Career Receptions: Larry Fitzgerald, 1,432 (2004-20) 
  • Most Career Sacks: Freddie Joe Nunn, 66.5 (1985-93) 
  • Most Career Interceptions: Larry Wilson, 52 (1960-72) 
  • Most Career Points: Jim Bakken, 1,380 (1962-78) 
  • Current Team Owner: Michael Bidwill     


Select a Different Team

American Football Conference AFC
North Baltimore Ravens Logo Cincinnati Bengals Logo Cleveland Browns Logo Pittsburgh Steelers Logo
East Buffalo Bills Logo Miami Dolphins Logo New England Patriots Logo New York Jets Logo
South Houston Texans Logo Indianapolis Colts Logo Jacksonville Jaguars Logo Tennessee Titans Logo
West Denver Broncos Logo Kansas City Chiefs Logo Las Vegas Raiders Logo Los Angeles Chargers Logo
NFL Logo
National Football Conference NFC
North Chicago Bears Logo Detroit Lions Logo Green Bay Packers Logo Minnesota Vikings Logo North
East Dallas Cowboys Logo New York Giants Logo Philadelphia Eagles Logo Washington Football Team Logo East
South Atlanta Falcons Logo Carolina Panthers Logo New Orleans Saints Logo Tampa Bay Buccaneers Logo South
West Arizona Cardinals Logo Los Angeles Rams Logo San Francisco 49ers Logo Seattle Seahawks Logo West