Team Menu
Back to Team Histories
Est. 1960


Former Dallas Cowboys quarterback Tony Romo passes the football.

Tony Romo - QB - 34,183 Passing Yards

AP via Michael Perez

Cowboys Logo

Did you know?

The Dallas Cowboys hold the NFL record for most consecutive winning seasons with 20 from 1966 to 1985. During that time, they reached the playoffs 18 times, won 13 NFC East championships, and reached the Super Bowl five times.  

Team History

  • Founded in 1960, the Cowboys had their first winning season in 1966.
  • The Cowboys of the 1970s and early 1980s became known as “America’s Team” after dominating their regular seasons and winning two Super Bowls under head coach Tom Landry.  
  • In 1989, Jerry Jones purchased a majority interest in the Dallas Cowboys from H.R. (Bum) Bright.
  • From 1992 to 1995, the Cowboys won three out of four Super Bowls under head coaches Jimmy Johnson and Barry Switzer.  
  • In 2018, the Dallas Cowboys became the first sports team to be valued at $5 billion, making it the most valuable sports team in the world.   

Team Facts

  • Seasons: 65 (1960-2024)
  • Winningest Coach: (W-L-T) Tom Landry (250-162-6) 
  • Super Bowl Titles: 5 
  • Record going into 2024 season: (W-L-T) 562-413-6  
  • Playoff Record: 36-31
  • Most Career Yards Rushing: Emmitt Smith, 17,162 (1990-2002) 
  • Most Career Yards Passing: Tony Romo, 34,183 (2004-16) 
  • Most Career Receptions: Jason Witten, 1,215 (2003-17, 2019) 
  • Most Career Sacks: DeMarcus Ware, 117 (2005-13) 
  • Most Career Interceptions: Mel Renfro, 52 (1964-77)   
  • Most Career Points: Emmitt Smith, 986 (1990-2002) 
  • Current Team Owner: Jerry Jones   


Select a Different Team

American Football Conference AFC
North Baltimore Ravens Logo Cincinnati Bengals Logo Cleveland Browns Logo Pittsburgh Steelers Logo
East Buffalo Bills Logo Miami Dolphins Logo New England Patriots Logo New York Jets Logo
South Houston Texans Logo Indianapolis Colts Logo Jacksonville Jaguars Logo Tennessee Titans Logo
West Denver Broncos Logo Kansas City Chiefs Logo Las Vegas Raiders Logo Los Angeles Chargers Logo
National Football Conference NFC
North Chicago Bears Logo Detroit Lions Logo Green Bay Packers Logo Minnesota Vikings Logo
East Dallas Cowboys Logo New York Giants Logo Philadelphia Eagles Logo Washington Commanders Logo
South Atlanta Falcons Logo Carolina Panthers Logo New Orleans Saints Logo Tampa Bay Buccaneers Logo
West Arizona Cardinals Logo Los Angeles Rams Logo San Francisco 49ers Logo Seattle Seahawks Logo