Team Menu
Back to Team Histories
Est. 1960

New England

Andre Tippett - Linebacker - 100 Sacks

AP via Al Messerschmidt

Patriots  Logo

Did you know?

The Patriots are tied with the Pittsburgh Steelers for the most Super Bowl victories in NFL history with six. They hold the NFL record for the most Super Bowl appearances with 11.  

Team History

  • Founded in 1959 as the “Boston Patriots,” the team was an original member of the American Football League (AFL). 
  • The Patriots joined the NFL during the 1970 AFL/NFL merger. They changed their name to the New England Patriots when they moved to Foxborough, MA. in 1971. 
  • Current owner Robert Kraft bought the team in 1994 and hired future Pro Football Hall of Fame head coach Bill Parcells, who led the team to Super Bowl XXXI, where they lost to the Green Bay Packers, 35-21. 
  • In 2001, the Patriots’ fortunes changed forever when quarterback Drew Bledsoe was injured and 2000 sixth-round draft pick and backup quarterback Tom Brady stepped in and led them to victory in Super Bowl XXXVI.  
  • From 2001-18, Belichick and Brady led the Patriots to a dominant run, winning six Super Bowls in nine appearances. 

Team Facts

  • Seasons: 64 (1960-2023) 
  • Winningest Coach: (W-L-T) Bill Belichick (262-108-0) 
  • Super Bowl Titles: 6 
  • Record going into 2023 season: (W-L-T) 537-420-9
  • Playoff Record: 37-22 
  • Most Career Yards Rushing: Sam Cunningham, 5,453 (1973-79, 1981-82)
  • Most Career Yards Passing: Tom Brady, 74,571 (2000-19) 
  • Most Career Receptions: Wes Welker, 672 (2007-12) 
  • Most Career Sacks: Andre Tippett, 100 (1982-93) 
  • Most Career Interceptions: Raymond Clayborn (1977-89), Ty Law (1995-2004), 36  
  • Most Career Points: Stephen Gostkowski, 1,775 (2006-19) 
  • Current Team Owner: Robert Kraft 

Select a Different Team

American Football Conference AFC
North Baltimore Ravens Logo Cincinnati Bengals Logo Cleveland Browns Logo Pittsburgh Steelers Logo
East Buffalo Bills Logo Miami Dolphins Logo New England Patriots Logo New York Jets Logo
South Houston Texans Logo Indianapolis Colts Logo Jacksonville Jaguars Logo Tennessee Titans Logo
West Denver Broncos Logo Kansas City Chiefs Logo Las Vegas Raiders Logo Los Angeles Chargers Logo
National Football Conference NFC
North Chicago Bears Logo Detroit Lions Logo Green Bay Packers Logo Minnesota Vikings Logo North
East Dallas Cowboys Logo New York Giants Logo Philadelphia Eagles Logo Washington Commanders Logo East
South Atlanta Falcons Logo Carolina Panthers Logo New Orleans Saints Logo Tampa Bay Buccaneers Logo South
West Arizona Cardinals Logo Los Angeles Rams Logo San Francisco 49ers Logo Seattle Seahawks Logo West