Team Menu
Back to Team Histories
Est. 2002


Former Houston Texans running back Arian Foster runs with the football.

Arian Foster - RB - 6,472 Rushing Yards

AP via Michael Conroy

Texans Logo

Did you know?

The Houston Texans are the youngest franchise in the NFL, becoming the league’s 32nd franchise during the 2002 season.

Team History

  • The Texans are Houston’s second NFL franchise after the Oilers who played in Houston from 1960-96 before moving to Tennessee, becoming the Tennessee Titans.
  • Founder Bob McNair was granted the Houston expansion team in 1999. 
  • With the first overall pick of the 2002 draft, the Texans selected quarterback David Carr from Fresno State. Carr played with the team from 2002-06.
  • In their first home opening game, the Texans defeated the Dallas Cowboys, 19-10. It's the first time an expansion team had won its opening game since the Minnesota Vikings defeated the Chicago Bears in 1961.    
  • The Texans won their first division championship in 2011 and clinched their first playoff berth. They have since gone on to win five more AFC South championships in 2012, 2015, 2016, 2018, 2019, and 2023.  

Team Facts

  • Seasons: 23 (2002-24) 
  • Winningest Coach: (W-L-T) Gary Kubiak (61-64-0)
  • Super Bowl Titles: 0 
  • Record going into 2024 season: (W-L-T) 154-202-1
  • Playoff Record: 5-7
  • Most Career Yards Rushing: Arian Foster, 6,472 (2009-15)
  • Most Career Yards Passing: Matt Schaub, 23,221 (2007-13)
  • Most Career Receptions: Andre Johnson, 1,012 (2003-14)
  • Most Career Sacks: J.J. Watt, 101 (2011-20)
  • Most Career Interceptions: Johnathan Joseph, 17 (2011-19)
  • Most Career Points: Kris Brown, 767 (2002-09) 
  • Current Team Owner: Janice McNair

Select a Different Team

American Football Conference AFC
North Baltimore Ravens Logo Cincinnati Bengals Logo Cleveland Browns Logo Pittsburgh Steelers Logo
East Buffalo Bills Logo Miami Dolphins Logo New England Patriots Logo New York Jets Logo
South Houston Texans Logo Indianapolis Colts Logo Jacksonville Jaguars Logo Tennessee Titans Logo
West Denver Broncos Logo Kansas City Chiefs Logo Las Vegas Raiders Logo Los Angeles Chargers Logo
National Football Conference NFC
North Chicago Bears Logo Detroit Lions Logo Green Bay Packers Logo Minnesota Vikings Logo
East Dallas Cowboys Logo New York Giants Logo Philadelphia Eagles Logo Washington Commanders Logo
South Atlanta Falcons Logo Carolina Panthers Logo New Orleans Saints Logo Tampa Bay Buccaneers Logo
West Arizona Cardinals Logo Los Angeles Rams Logo San Francisco 49ers Logo Seattle Seahawks Logo