Team Menu
Back to Team Histories
Est. 1953


Former Indianapolis Colts quarterback Peyton Manning passes the football.

Peyton Manning - QB - 54,828 Passing Yards

AP via David J. Phillip

Colts  Logo

Did you know?

The Colts are one of two teams (along with the Las Vegas Raiders) to win a Super Bowl while based in two different cities, Baltimore (1971) and Indianapolis (2007). The Colts are the only team to win both of their Super Bowls in the same host city (Miami).

Team History

  • In 1953, the city of Baltimore was awarded a new NFL franchise. The team was named the Colts, the second pro football club to bear that name in a seven-year period.  
  • The Colts won NFL Western Conference championships in 1964 and 1968 under legendary head coach Don Shula. Shula moved to the Miami Dolphins in 1970, but the Colts won the first AFC Eastern division title and Super Bowl V in the same year. 
  • In 1984, professional football came to Indianapolis when owner Robert Irsay moved the Colts franchise from Baltimore to Indianapolis. 
  • The Colts franchise changed forever when they drafted quarterback Peyton Manning with the first overall pick in the 1998 NFL Draft. The club would become one of the league’s most dominant teams of the 2000s.  
  • In 2006, Manning led the Colts to their first championship in 36 seasons with a victory in Super Bowl XLI, beating the Chicago Bears, 29-17. 

Team Facts

  • Seasons: 72 (1953-2024) 
  • Winningest Coach: (W-L-T) Tony Dungy 85-27-0 
  • Super Bowl Titles: 2 
  • Record going into 2024 season: (W-L-T) 556-501-8 
  • Playoff Record: 23-25
  • Most Career Yards Rushing: Edgerrin James, 9,226 (1999-2005)
  • Most Career Yards Passing: Peyton Manning, 54,828 (1998-2010)
  • Most Career Receptions: Marvin Harrison, 1,102 (1996-2008)
  • Most Career Sacks: Robert Mathis, 123 (2003-16) 
  • Most Career Interceptions: Bobby Boyd, 57 (1960-68)
  • Most Career Points: Adam Vinatieri, 1,515 (2006-19) 
  • Current Team Owner: Jim Irsay  

Select a Different Team

American Football Conference AFC
North Baltimore Ravens Logo Cincinnati Bengals Logo Cleveland Browns Logo Pittsburgh Steelers Logo
East Buffalo Bills Logo Miami Dolphins Logo New England Patriots Logo New York Jets Logo
South Houston Texans Logo Indianapolis Colts Logo Jacksonville Jaguars Logo Tennessee Titans Logo
West Denver Broncos Logo Kansas City Chiefs Logo Las Vegas Raiders Logo Los Angeles Chargers Logo
National Football Conference NFC
North Chicago Bears Logo Detroit Lions Logo Green Bay Packers Logo Minnesota Vikings Logo
East Dallas Cowboys Logo New York Giants Logo Philadelphia Eagles Logo Washington Commanders Logo
South Atlanta Falcons Logo Carolina Panthers Logo New Orleans Saints Logo Tampa Bay Buccaneers Logo
West Arizona Cardinals Logo Los Angeles Rams Logo San Francisco 49ers Logo Seattle Seahawks Logo