Team Menu
Back to Team Histories
Est. 1960


Former Tennessee Titans running back Eddie George runs with the football.

Eddie George - RB - 10,009 Rushing Yards

AP via Al Messerschmidt

Titans  Logo

Did you know?

The Tennessee Titans, known then as the Houston Oilers, were the first franchise in professional football history to play the majority of its games in a dome (Houston Astrodome). 

Team History

  • The franchise was originally founded by Bud Adams as the Houston Oilers and began playing in 1960 as part of the AFL. It won two AFL championships in 1960 and 1961. 
  • The Oilers made consecutive playoff appearances from 1978-80 and from 1987-93. 
  • The team relocated from Houston to Tennessee in 1997 and played as the Tennessee Oilers for two years before the team changed its name to the Titans before the 1999 season.  
  • Since its inception in 1999, the Titans have played in one Super Bowl, but were defeated by the St. Louis Rams, 23-16, in 2000.
  • Led by quarterback Steve McNair and running back Eddie George, the Titans made the playoffs in all but one season from 1999-2003. 
  • From 2016-21, the Titans recorded six consecutive winning seasons, the most since they were known as the Houston Oilers.    

Team Facts

  • Seasons: 65 (1960-2024)
  • Winningest Coach: (W-L-T) Jeff Fisher (142-120-0) 
  • Super Bowl Titles: 0 
  • Record going into 2024 season: (W-L-T) 476-501-6
  • Playoff Record: 17-23
  • Most Career Yards Rushing: Eddie George, 10,009 (1996-2003)
  • Most Career Yards Passing: Warren Moon, 33,685 (1984-93)
  • Most Career Receptions: Ernest Givins, 542 (1986-94) 
  • Most Career Sacks: Elvin Bethea, 105 (1968-83)*  
  • Most Career Interceptions: Jim Norton, 45 (1960-68) 
  • Most Career Points: Al Del Greco, 1,060 (1991-2000)   
  • Current Team Owner: Amy Adams Strunk

*Sacks prior to 1982 are not official

Select a Different Team

American Football Conference AFC
North Baltimore Ravens Logo Cincinnati Bengals Logo Cleveland Browns Logo Pittsburgh Steelers Logo
East Buffalo Bills Logo Miami Dolphins Logo New England Patriots Logo New York Jets Logo
South Houston Texans Logo Indianapolis Colts Logo Jacksonville Jaguars Logo Tennessee Titans Logo
West Denver Broncos Logo Kansas City Chiefs Logo Las Vegas Raiders Logo Los Angeles Chargers Logo
National Football Conference NFC
North Chicago Bears Logo Detroit Lions Logo Green Bay Packers Logo Minnesota Vikings Logo
East Dallas Cowboys Logo New York Giants Logo Philadelphia Eagles Logo Washington Commanders Logo
South Atlanta Falcons Logo Carolina Panthers Logo New Orleans Saints Logo Tampa Bay Buccaneers Logo
West Arizona Cardinals Logo Los Angeles Rams Logo San Francisco 49ers Logo Seattle Seahawks Logo