Team Menu
Back to Team Histories
Est. 1946

San Francisco

Former San Francisco 49ers quarterback Joe Montana passes the football.

Joe Montana - QB - 35,124 Passing Yards


49ers Logo

Did you know?

The 49ers became the first team in the NFL to win 15 regular season games after the league expanded to a 16-game regular season in 1978, going 15-1 in 1984.

Team History

  • The San Francisco 49ers began playing in 1946 as charter members of the All-America Football Conference. The AAFC merged with the NFL in 1949 and the 49ers became the 10th-oldest franchise in the NFL.     
  • In 1977, Edward J. DeBartolo Jr. became the new team owner and hired coach Bill Walsh in 1979. Within three years, the 49ers won their first Super Bowl in 1982 when they defeated the Bengals, 26-21.  
  • With Hall of Fame quarterback Joe Montana, the 49ers won three more Super Bowls, bringing their total to four by 1990.  
  • In 2019, under head coach Kyle Shanahan, the 49ers went back to the playoffs for the first time since 2013 and advanced to Super Bowl LIV. The 49ers were defeated by the Kansas City Chiefs, 31-20. 

Team Facts

  • Seasons: 78 (1946-2023) 
  • Winningest Coach: (W-L-T) George Seifert (98-30-0) 
  • Super Bowl Titles: 5  
  • Record going into 2023 season: (W-L-T) 612-510-16 
  • Playoff Record: 35-23 
  • Most Career Yards Rushing: Frank Gore, 11,073 (2005-14) 
  • Most Career Yards Passing: Joe Montana, 35,124 (1979-92) 
  • Most Career Receptions: Jerry Rice, 1,281 (1985-2000) 
  • Most Career Sacks: Cedric Hardman, 108 (1970-79)*  
  • Most Career Interceptions: Ronnie Lott, 51 (1981-90) 
  • Most Career Points: Jerry Rice, 1,130 (1985-2000) 
  • Current Team Owner: Denise DeBartolo York

*Sacks prior to 1982 are not official


Select a Different Team

American Football Conference AFC
North Baltimore Ravens Logo Cincinnati Bengals Logo Cleveland Browns Logo Pittsburgh Steelers Logo
East Buffalo Bills Logo Miami Dolphins Logo New England Patriots Logo New York Jets Logo
South Houston Texans Logo Indianapolis Colts Logo Jacksonville Jaguars Logo Tennessee Titans Logo
West Denver Broncos Logo Kansas City Chiefs Logo Las Vegas Raiders Logo Los Angeles Chargers Logo
National Football Conference NFC
North Chicago Bears Logo Detroit Lions Logo Green Bay Packers Logo Minnesota Vikings Logo
East Dallas Cowboys Logo New York Giants Logo Philadelphia Eagles Logo Washington Commanders Logo
South Atlanta Falcons Logo Carolina Panthers Logo New Orleans Saints Logo Tampa Bay Buccaneers Logo
West Arizona Cardinals Logo Los Angeles Rams Logo San Francisco 49ers Logo Seattle Seahawks Logo