Team Menu
Back to Team Histories
Est. 1930


Former Detroit Lions running back Barry Sanders runs with the football.

Barry Sanders - RB - 15,269 Rushing Yards

AP via Doug Mills

Lions Logo

Did you know?

The Detroit Lions started the Thanksgiving Day football game tradition in 1934 and have played on the holiday every season since, except for a brief gap from 1939-44.

Team History

  • The Detroit franchise started as the Portsmouth (Ohio) Spartans in 1930. Detroit radio executive George A. Richards purchased the Spartans in 1934 and moved them to Detroit where they were renamed the Lions.  
  • During the franchise’s second year in Detroit, the Lions won the 1935 NFL Championship when they defeated the New York Giants, 26-7.  
  • During the 1950s, the Lions won three league championships, all against the Cleveland Browns, in 1952, 1953, and 1957. 
  • Following the 1957 championship, the Lions did not win a playoff game until the 1991 season and did not win another until the 2023 season.

Team Facts

  • Seasons: 95 (1930-2024)
  • Winningest Coach: (W-L-T) Wayne Fontes (66-67-0)
  • Super Bowl Titles: 0 
  • Record going into 2024 season: (W-L-T) 591-707-34
  • Playoff Record: 9-14
  • Most Career Yards Rushing: Barry Sanders, 15,269 (1989-98)
  • Most Career Yards Passing: Matthew Stafford, 45,109 (2009-20)
  • Most Career Receptions: Calvin Johnson, 731 (2007-15)
  • Most Career Sacks: Alex Karras, 100 (1958-70)*
  • Most Career Interceptions: Dick LeBeau, 62 (1959-72)
  • Most Career Points: Jason Hanson, 2,150 (1992-2012)
  • Current Team Owner: Sheila Ford Hamp  

 *Sacks prior to 1982 are not official 

Select a Different Team

American Football Conference AFC
North Baltimore Ravens Logo Cincinnati Bengals Logo Cleveland Browns Logo Pittsburgh Steelers Logo
East Buffalo Bills Logo Miami Dolphins Logo New England Patriots Logo New York Jets Logo
South Houston Texans Logo Indianapolis Colts Logo Jacksonville Jaguars Logo Tennessee Titans Logo
West Denver Broncos Logo Kansas City Chiefs Logo Las Vegas Raiders Logo Los Angeles Chargers Logo
National Football Conference NFC
North Chicago Bears Logo Detroit Lions Logo Green Bay Packers Logo Minnesota Vikings Logo
East Dallas Cowboys Logo New York Giants Logo Philadelphia Eagles Logo Washington Commanders Logo
South Atlanta Falcons Logo Carolina Panthers Logo New Orleans Saints Logo Tampa Bay Buccaneers Logo
West Arizona Cardinals Logo Los Angeles Rams Logo San Francisco 49ers Logo Seattle Seahawks Logo