Team Menu
Back to Team Histories
Est. 1995


Former Carolina Panthers running back Steve Smith runs with the football.

Steve Smith - WR - 12,197 Receiving Yards

AP via Charles Krupa

Panthers  Logo

Did you know?

In 1995, the Carolina Panthers became the first expansion franchise to defeat a reigning Super Bowl champion in its inaugural season when they won against the San Francisco 49ers.

Team History

  • The Panthers were competitive in their inaugural 1995 season, finishing 7-9 and setting an all-time best opening season record among all NFL expansion teams. 
  • The Panthers played their first season's home games at Clemson University because their new stadium was still under construction. 
  • In 2003, the Panthers won the NFC Championship and went to Super Bowl XXXVIII where they eventually lost to the New England Patriots, 32-29, in what is considered one of the most thrilling Super Bowls.  
  • The Panthers had their most dominant season in 2015, going 15-1 with quarterback and MVP Cam Newton. They advanced to Super Bowl 50, but lost to the Denver Broncos, 24-10. 

Team Facts

  • Seasons: 29 (1995-2024)
  • Winningest Coach: (W-L-T) Ron Rivera (76-63-1) 
  • Super Bowl Titles: 0  
  • Record going into 2024 season (W-L-T): 214-252-1
  • Playoff Record:9-8 
  • Most Career Yards Rushing: Jonathan Stewart, 7,318 (2008-17) 
  • Most Career Yards Passing: Cam Newton, 29,725 (2011-19, 2021)
  • Most Career Receptions: Steve Smith, 836 (2001-13) 
  • Most Career Sacks: Julius Peppers, 97 (2002-09, 2017-18)
  • Most Career Interceptions: Chris Gamble, 27 (2004-12)
  • Most Career Points: John Kasay, 1,482 (1995-2010)
  • Current Team Owner: David Tepper 


Select a Different Team

American Football Conference AFC
North Baltimore Ravens Logo Cincinnati Bengals Logo Cleveland Browns Logo Pittsburgh Steelers Logo
East Buffalo Bills Logo Miami Dolphins Logo New England Patriots Logo New York Jets Logo
South Houston Texans Logo Indianapolis Colts Logo Jacksonville Jaguars Logo Tennessee Titans Logo
West Denver Broncos Logo Kansas City Chiefs Logo Las Vegas Raiders Logo Los Angeles Chargers Logo
National Football Conference NFC
North Chicago Bears Logo Detroit Lions Logo Green Bay Packers Logo Minnesota Vikings Logo
East Dallas Cowboys Logo New York Giants Logo Philadelphia Eagles Logo Washington Commanders Logo
South Atlanta Falcons Logo Carolina Panthers Logo New Orleans Saints Logo Tampa Bay Buccaneers Logo
West Arizona Cardinals Logo Los Angeles Rams Logo San Francisco 49ers Logo Seattle Seahawks Logo