Team Menu
Back to Team Histories
Est. 1960


Former Buffalo Bills defensive end Bruce Smith moves to tackle an opponent with the football.

Bruce Smith - DE - 171 Sacks

AP via Vernon Biever

Bills  Logo

Did you know?

The Buffalo Bills are the only team to play in four consecutive Super Bowls, making these appearances between 1990-93.  

Team History

  • The Buffalo Bills were the seventh team to be admitted to the American Football League when the franchise was awarded to Ralph C. Wilson in 1959. 
  • In 1964 and 1965, the Buffalo Bills won the AFC Championship. Head coach Lou Saban was named AFL Coach of the Year for both seasons. 
  • When Marv Levy took over as head coach in 1986, the Buffalo Bills became one of the league’s most dominant teams, winning five AFC championships and making four consecutive Super Bowl appearances.   
  • With some of the most passionate fans in the league, the Buffalo Bills set an NFL single-season attendance record in the '90s when 635,889 fans attended games during the 1991 season.   

Team Facts

  • Seasons: 65 (1960-2024) 
  • Winningest Coach: (W-L-T) Marv Levy (112-70-0) 
  • Super Bowl Titles: 0 
  • Record going into 2024 season: (W-L-T) 473-501-8
  • Playoff Record: 19-21
  • Most Career Yards Rushing: Thurman Thomas, 11,938 (1988-99) 
  • Most Career Yards Passing: Jim Kelly, 35,467 (1986-96) 
  • Most Career Receptions: Andre Reed, 941 (1985-99)
  • Most Career Sacks: Bruce Smith, 171 (1985-99) 
  • Most Career Interceptions: Butch Byrd, 40 (1964-70) 
  • Most Career Points: Steve Christie, 1,011 (1992-2000) 
  • Current Team Owners: Kim Pegula and Terry Pegula  

Select a Different Team

American Football Conference AFC
North Baltimore Ravens Logo Cincinnati Bengals Logo Cleveland Browns Logo Pittsburgh Steelers Logo
East Buffalo Bills Logo Miami Dolphins Logo New England Patriots Logo New York Jets Logo
South Houston Texans Logo Indianapolis Colts Logo Jacksonville Jaguars Logo Tennessee Titans Logo
West Denver Broncos Logo Kansas City Chiefs Logo Las Vegas Raiders Logo Los Angeles Chargers Logo
National Football Conference NFC
North Chicago Bears Logo Detroit Lions Logo Green Bay Packers Logo Minnesota Vikings Logo
East Dallas Cowboys Logo New York Giants Logo Philadelphia Eagles Logo Washington Commanders Logo
South Atlanta Falcons Logo Carolina Panthers Logo New Orleans Saints Logo Tampa Bay Buccaneers Logo
West Arizona Cardinals Logo Los Angeles Rams Logo San Francisco 49ers Logo Seattle Seahawks Logo