Team Menu
Back to Team Histories
Est. 1976


Former Seattle Seahawks wide receiver Steve Largent runs with the football.

Steve Largent - WR - 13,089 Receiving Yards

AP via Gary Stewart

Seahawks  Logo

Did you know?

Crowd noise from a Marshawn Lynch run in the 2010 NFC Wild Card game was so intense that it was registered by a local seismograph. The play is known as the “Beast Quake.”

Team History

  • The Seattle Seahawks began playing in the 1976 season under head coach Jack Patera. The Seahawks recorded their first winning season two years later in 1978, and Patera was named NFL Coach of the Year in 1979.  
  • In 1978, the Seattle Seahawks switched to the American Football Conference (AFC) from the National Football Conference (NFC). The Seahawks were in the AFC from 1978 to 2001. They reverted to the NFC in 2002. 
  • In 1983, Chuck Knox became head coach and led the Seahawks to the AFC Championship game in his first season.  
  • The Seahawks claimed their first NFC Championship in the 2005 season and went to the 2006 Super Bowl behind quarterback Matt Hasselbeck and running back Shaun Alexander, where they eventually lost to the Pittsburgh Steelers, 21-10.  
  • The Seahawks clinched their first Super Bowl title in 2014 when they defeated the Denver Broncos, 43-8.   

Team Facts

  • Seasons: 49 (1976-2024)
  • Winningest Coach: (W-L-T) Pete Carroll (137-89-1)
  • Super Bowl Titles: 1  
  • Record going into 2024 season: (W-L-T) 392-366-1
  • Playoff Record: 17-19 
  • Most Career Yards Rushing: Shaun Alexander, 9,429 (2000-07) 
  • Most Career Yards Passing: Russell Wilson, 37,059 (2012-21) 
  • Most Career Receptions: Steve Largent, 819 (1976-89) 
  • Most Career Sacks: Jacob Green, 115.5 (1980-91)* 
  • Most Career Interceptions: Dave Brown, 50 (1976-86) 
  • Most Career Points: Norm Johnson, 810 (1982-90) 
  • Current Team Owner: Jody Allen 

*Sacks prior to 1982 are not official


Select a Different Team

American Football Conference AFC
North Baltimore Ravens Logo Cincinnati Bengals Logo Cleveland Browns Logo Pittsburgh Steelers Logo
East Buffalo Bills Logo Miami Dolphins Logo New England Patriots Logo New York Jets Logo
South Houston Texans Logo Indianapolis Colts Logo Jacksonville Jaguars Logo Tennessee Titans Logo
West Denver Broncos Logo Kansas City Chiefs Logo Las Vegas Raiders Logo Los Angeles Chargers Logo
National Football Conference NFC
North Chicago Bears Logo Detroit Lions Logo Green Bay Packers Logo Minnesota Vikings Logo
East Dallas Cowboys Logo New York Giants Logo Philadelphia Eagles Logo Washington Commanders Logo
South Atlanta Falcons Logo Carolina Panthers Logo New Orleans Saints Logo Tampa Bay Buccaneers Logo
West Arizona Cardinals Logo Los Angeles Rams Logo San Francisco 49ers Logo Seattle Seahawks Logo