Team Menu
Back to Team Histories
Est. 1946


Former Cleveland Browns running back Jim Brown runs with the football.

Jim Brown - RB - 12,312 Rushing Yards

AP via Tony Tomsic

Browns  Logo

Did you know?

The Browns didn’t play a single NFL down from 1996-98, after the original team and staff relocated to Baltimore in 1996. The Browns franchise resumed operations in 1999 with the same logo and colors.

Team History

  • Founded in 1944, the Browns officially joined the NFL in 1950 along with the San Francisco 49ers and Baltimore Colts from the All-America Football Conference after that league folded.
  • The Browns quickly established themselves as perennial contenders, winning four NFL Championships (1950, 1954, 1955, and 1964). 
  • In 1961, Arthur B. Modell purchased the Browns for a then-record price of $4 million. In 1970, the Browns moved to the American Football Conference.
  • The Browns played in the first Monday Night Football game on September 21, 1970, defeating the New York Jets, 31-21.

Team Facts

  • Seasons: 76 (1946-95, 1999-2024) 
  • Winningest Coach: (W-L-T) Paul Brown (158-48-8)
  • Super Bowl Titles: 0 
  • Record going into 2024 season: (W-L-T) 559-534-14
  • Playoff Record: 17-22
  • Most Career Yards Rushing: Jim Brown, 12,312 (1957-65) 
  • Most Career Yards Passing: Brian Sipe, 23,713 (1974-83)
  • Most Career Receptions: Ozzie Newsome, 662 (1978-90)
  • Most Career Sacks: Bill Glass, 77.5 (1962-68)*
  • Most Career Interceptions: Thom Darden, 45 (1972-81)
  • Most Career Points: Lou Groza, 1,608 (1946-67)
  • Current Team Owners: Jimmy Haslam and Dee Haslam   

*Sacks prior to 1982 are not official

Select a Different Team

American Football Conference AFC
North Baltimore Ravens Logo Cincinnati Bengals Logo Cleveland Browns Logo Pittsburgh Steelers Logo
East Buffalo Bills Logo Miami Dolphins Logo New England Patriots Logo New York Jets Logo
South Houston Texans Logo Indianapolis Colts Logo Jacksonville Jaguars Logo Tennessee Titans Logo
West Denver Broncos Logo Kansas City Chiefs Logo Las Vegas Raiders Logo Los Angeles Chargers Logo
National Football Conference NFC
North Chicago Bears Logo Detroit Lions Logo Green Bay Packers Logo Minnesota Vikings Logo
East Dallas Cowboys Logo New York Giants Logo Philadelphia Eagles Logo Washington Commanders Logo
South Atlanta Falcons Logo Carolina Panthers Logo New Orleans Saints Logo Tampa Bay Buccaneers Logo
West Arizona Cardinals Logo Los Angeles Rams Logo San Francisco 49ers Logo Seattle Seahawks Logo