Team Menu
Back to Team Histories
Est. 1933


Troy Polamalu - Safety - 32 Interceptions

AP via Keith Srakocic

Steelers  Logo

Did you know?

The Pittsburgh Steelers became the first NFL franchise to win six Super Bowl titles following their victory over the Seattle Seahawks in Super Bowl XL.

Team History

  • The Pittsburgh franchise was founded as the “Pittsburgh Pirates” by Arthur J. Rooney in 1933 before officially becoming the Pittsburgh Steelers in 1940.
  • The 1970s were a dominant decade for the team under head coach Chuck Noll during which they won four Super Bowls and made the playoffs eight times

  • In 1938, Pittsburgh selected future U.S. Supreme Court Justice Byron White in the first round of the NFL draft.
  • After drafting quarterback Ben Roethlisberger, the Steelers went on to win the 2006 and 2009 Super Bowls, becoming one of the most successful NFL franchises.

  • The Steelers have a rivalry with the Baltimore Ravens with both teams handing each other their first losses at their current home fields. 

Team Facts

  • Seasons: 89 (1933-2021)
  • Winningest Coach: (W-L-T): Chuck Noll (193-148-1)
  • Super Bowl Titles: 6
  • Record going into 2021 season: (W-L-T): 643-556-21
  • Playoff Record: 36-26
  • Most Career Yards Rushing: Franco Harris, 11,950 (1972-83)
  • Most Career Yards Passing: Ben Roethlisberger, 60,348 (2004-20)
  • Most Career Receptions: Hines Ward, 1,000 (1998-2011)
  • Most Career Sacks: James Harrison, 80.5 (2002, 2004-12, 2014-17)
  • Most Career Interceptions: Mel Blount, 57 (1970-83)
  • Most Career Points: Gary Anderson, 1,343 (1982-94)
  • Current Team Owners: Rooney Family

Select a Different Team

American Football Conference AFC
North Baltimore Ravens Logo Cincinnati Bengals Logo Cleveland Browns Logo Pittsburgh Steelers Logo
East Buffalo Bills Logo Miami Dolphins Logo New England Patriots Logo New York Jets Logo
South Houston Texans Logo Indianapolis Colts Logo Jacksonville Jaguars Logo Tennessee Titans Logo
West Denver Broncos Logo Kansas City Chiefs Logo Las Vegas Raiders Logo Los Angeles Chargers Logo
NFL Logo
National Football Conference NFC
North Chicago Bears Logo Detroit Lions Logo Green Bay Packers Logo Minnesota Vikings Logo North
East Dallas Cowboys Logo New York Giants Logo Philadelphia Eagles Logo Washington Football Team Logo East
South Atlanta Falcons Logo Carolina Panthers Logo New Orleans Saints Logo Tampa Bay Buccaneers Logo South
West Arizona Cardinals Logo Los Angeles Rams Logo San Francisco 49ers Logo Seattle Seahawks Logo West